the hyperinformed electorate?

November 6, 2008

While Henry Farrell probably didn’t intend this CT post from last week the way I’m going to respond to it, I still think it’s interesting to consider his suggestion that election junkies had bigger, faster, and better access to news and information during this campaign.

Eszter Hargittai’s research would suggest that for most of us it’s not how much information the Internet makes available, but rather the accessibility of the information that counts. So was the information Henry talks about accessible?

The best answer probably depends on who you ask. Like so many others, I loved me some Nate Silver simulations throughout the last few weeks, but I don’t pretend to understand the ins and outs of Silver’s computational wizardry. Similarly, I religiously followed the composite polls at Pollster.com, Daily Kos, and RCP, but balk at the fine points of curve smoothing and best fit graphing techniques.

In this sense, I wonder how Joe-Internet-Surfer coped with the Habermasian equivalent of TMI?

One Response to “the hyperinformed electorate?”

  1. patriots99 Says:

    I enjoy contributing and pursuing the liberty, peace, health and prosperity of our great nation. Please blog me at [URL Deleted]

    Editor’s Note: Sorry, I don’t allow such shameless and content-free blog pimping here. Respectfully yours, Aaron


Leave a Reply

